Knitting firsts

img_0156

Though perfect weather for knitting, the past few days and weeks in the UK have been dull and dreary to say the least! The sun finally made an appearance on Friday so I  seized the opportunity to take some shots of my recently finished socks.

img_0163Unless you’ve been hibernating this winter then you’ve probably made a pair – or at least heard of Hermione’s Everyday Socks! Designed by Erica Lueder, this pattern has been saved in my library for many months but it wasn’t until recently that I felt competent enough to have a go at knitting them.

This is the first time I’ve knit with Knitpro Zings, I’ve only ever used bamboo needles before – though I like bamboo needles I enjoyed the precision and smooth motion of the metal – I’m sure I’ll be investing in many more sets. (I got mine from Loveknitting.com).

img_0159

img_0157img_0153

I received this lovely yarn for Christmas by my sister, it’s by Countess Ablaze in their Lady Persephone Sock in the ‘Afternoon Tea’ colourway 😍. It’s the first time I’ve knit with hand dyed/ speckled yarn and I really like the outcome and the natural feel of the BFL/ nylon blend. I was unsure whether the texture would be lost in the speckles but I think it works.

I made a small change and knit a slipped stitch heel rather than the eye of partridge – this was sheer laziness on my part as I couldn’t get my head around the pattern but there’s always next time!

img_0155img_0160

This pattern has made me keen to experiment more with texture rather than just plain stockinette and has given me the confidence to have a go at designing my own socks which I’ll hopefully get to share soon!

Have you got a favourite sock yarn?

Leave a Reply

